Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Colorado’s New 40-Hour Assisted Living Administrator Course

Meet the 40-hour training requirement to become an assisted living residence administrator as set forth in the revised Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s (CDPHE) licensing regulations governing assisted living residences, which became effective in mid-2018.  This course is also recommended for owners, administrator designees, CEO’s, COO’s, resident services directors, nurses, social workers, and marketing/admissions staff.  

Minimum Qualifications to Become an Administrator:

It is important to note that the revised regulations establish minimum qualifications to become an assisted living administrator in Colorado. The rules currently state that in addition to successful completion of this course, effective July 1, 2019, any newly hired administrator must be at least 21 years of age, possess a high school diploma or equivalent and have at least one year of experience supervising the delivery of personal care services that include activities of daily living.

However, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) recently issued a notice that allows an assisted living residence to ask for a waiver for an administrator that does not meet this requirement but meets one of several other qualifications. Click here for more information.

Course Content:

This comprehensive 40-hour training program focuses on applicable laws and state regulations governing assisted living residences in Colorado and also provides an overview of topics in the areas of business operations, daily business management, physical plant, resident care and resident psycho-social needs. View course curriculum.

Training Modules Include:

Module 1:  The Basics – Laws, Regulations, Licensing and Oversight
Module 2:  Business Operations
Module 3:  Definitions, Philosophy, Training, Staffing and Nursing Services
Module 4:  Administrative Functions, Quality Management, Reporting Requirements, and Investigating Abuse and Neglect
Module 5:  Understanding Resident Rights
Module 6:  Ethical Caregiving
Module 7:  Understanding the Aging Body
Module 8:  Resident Care Services:  Assessment, Person-Centered Care Planning and Medication Management
Module 9:  Creating a Safe Environment for Residents and Staff
Module 10:  Health Emergencies and Fall Management
Module 11:  Aging, Mental Health and Behavioral Expressions
Module 12:  Nutritious, Delicious, Safe Food and Dining Services
Module 13:  Resident Engagement and Enrichment Opportunities
Module 14:  Alzheimer’s, Memory Care and Secured Environment Regulations
Module 15:  Understanding Death & Dying:  Compassion, Hospice and Palliative Care 

Written In-Person Exam Required

To receive written proof of successful completion of this course you will need to take a final exam, in person, held at various locations throughout the state.  Once you complete the required 40-hour online course, you will need to contact Sarah McVeigh with LeadingAge Colorado at 303-837-8834 to schedule your final exam.


40 Hour Colorado New Administrator Training- $925.00

Effective August 30, 2019, the 40 hour Owner/Operator Assisted Living online course will be hosted directly by LeadingAge Colorado. In the meantime, the course is available through midnight, August 29, 2019, at the link below.

If you do not complete the course by midnight, August 29,2019, please contact Sarah McVeigh at [email protected] for the new link to access the same course on the LeadingAge Colorado platform.

Sign up for the course here.

Are you a LeadingAge Colorado member? Contact Sarah McVeigh at 303-837-8834 for your member coupon and save $200!  Membership information can be found here.